I am rude and heartless!!!!

Date: 11.10.2017

Class number – 03

So I have done the prerequisite readings and here I am for the class. I feel relaxed and without burdens or fear. I am so glad that this subject and Viji mam is very unpredictable that it increases my eagerness and energy for the class.

When mam entered I thought she must have come in a hurry since she had her attire components mismatched and randomly picked, red headlight and bright yellow flowers. Immediately my teacher antennae stood up and I began to think, a teacher should be neutral to all religious communities and his or her personal preferences shouldn’t be brought to class.

Later with the start of the class, I understood that her attire was intentional and for indeed showing us the effect of phase 1 and 2 of perception. The first one is very spontaneous and unintentional. As and when we see a person we immediately take our magnifying glass and form mental models about them. Whatever conclusions we form later after the interaction is our fight with our mental model. Those who are headstrong don’t give in and stick to their first impression, others give space for the person, take time and then come to a conclusion. As managers, we need to have an egalitarian goal. We need to know that we have to give space and time to the individual before we understand and evaluate them. This is definitely possible if we have a team to train. But will this time and space be given to us when go in search of recruitment?

The answer is a clear no. As an individual, trying to get an opportunity, we need to explicitly display the requirements of the profile in the given time. The same happens during an interview, an internship, training etc. So we need to portray the apt impression and talents required for the job. We can try as much we could if else, we need to work on it on our second chance.

https://i0.wp.com/i0.kym-cdn.com/photos/images/newsfeed/000/993/875/084.pngBased on the video mam showed in class, we were asked to give a one-word characterization of the lead as per our perception. So I thought the lead was very grumpy, rude and heartless toward his mother hence I told the same. Later the original thoughts of the lead actor were shown.  And mam told that we tend to perceive others through our own characteristics. So I must have a bit of rudeness and heartlessness. So beware 🙂

So what do we have to watch out before we come to conclusions about a person? We need to think about form and substance. We need to remind ourselves to give less importance to form and wait till the substance of a person is clear. Usually, I don’t get along immediately with everyone. I take my own time to observe others, measure their way of interaction and then choose the people whom I feel comfortable with. This works fine for social point of view. But in the organizational view if I am a leader then I need to be fair and square. I may have to judge or evaluate only based on substance.

Toward the end, we had a group activity based on Johari window. It was nice to sit and have a productive and constructive discussion. We had exchanged quite an amount of things about each other.

I and my friends together feel that I am approachable, helpful and caring, frank, I say no to none, allow people to walk over me.

Blind areas were that I am unintentionally funny, clear and that I can explain clearly.

Others don’t know that I am confused on the inside, I am scared, moody etc.

Unexplored self is that I want to try stand-up comedy, dance, and theatre.

Finally , Guys please! Please! Believe me, I am neither rude (maybe sarcastic)

Related image

nor heartless (unless you do something to my family, then)

https://i0.wp.com/s2.quickmeme.com/img/40/40a4022d64e719e81c4a77f936c78ff6b9d58b2acb386194c79d2207d3055cc0.jpg

 

 

follow me up for more class updates 🙂

 

Leave a comment